The immense high relief of the Trinity of the Martel brothers concentrates in a striking synthesis the doctrine of the Basilica: the Virgin, at the foot of the Cross, leading humanity to the Holy Trinity.

Exterior ornamentation

St Michael the Archangel of concrete covered with copper, with a flaming sword raised to the sky, surmounts the ridge. It is the work of Lin Gualino.

The campanile, 60 m high, houses the large bourdon, its three younger daughters and the carillon of 48 bells. This unique carillon in Loir-et-Cher was produced by the Paccard workshops in Annecy.

The bas-reliefs by Anne-Marie Roux describe with grace and simplicity the three main Mysteries of the Virgin Mary: the Immaculate Conception, the Annunciation and the Assumption.

Interior ornamentation

Vitraux Notre Dame de la Trintié
Chemin de Croix Basilique

The statue of Notre-Dame with the symbol of the Trinity in its heart, executed by Anne-Marie Roux, was commissioned by Father Grégoire to create a chapel for pilgrims.

The mosaic, created by Louis Barillet, overhanging the choir represents the coronation of the Virgin, surrounded by angels and Prophets. The free space around the mosaic invites us to join the Kingdom of God.

Since the thirteenth century, the faithful have liked to beg the Mother of the Lord by reciting each day, with perseverance, the three "Hail Marys". This prayer reminds us of our vocation to enter, like Mary, into a communion of Life with the Three Persons of the Holy Trinity. At the start of the 20th century, the rise of devotion to Our Lady of the Trinity was born from the apostolic desire of Father Jean-Baptiste, Capuchin Brother of the Convent of Blois. He devoted his whole life to preaching and extending the prayer of the three Hail Marys.

Father Clovis de Provins succeeded him, whose action was exercised throughout the interwar period. He had the project and was the architect of the construction of the Basilica. The Work received from the Church the mission of spreading this devotion.

Devotion of the three Ave

Twist construction

The history of construction is full of twists and turns. The very ambitious project of Father Clovis, for whom nothing seemed too good to honor Notre Dame and her faithful, was at the time accused of recklessness. The church was started in 1932 under the leadership of Charles-Henri Besnard. Its construction, interrupted for a while for poor workmanship and lawsuits, was resumed in 1935 by the architect Paul Rouvière who left his mark on the building. It was completed by Father Grégoire with the architect Yves-Marie Froidevaux in 1949, year of the consecration of the church and the title of Basilica was granted by Pius XII in 1956.

Paul Rouvière, visionary architect

From 1936, Paul Rouvière took over the work effectively at only 28 years old. It uses the following principles: to leave the fields of traditional actions, to use new materials, to use industrial production techniques, to banish the picturesque in order to favor the purity of forms, to invent a Modern Art. He used a particular material: bush-hammered concrete revealing the Loire gravel. Thanks to this process, the structures of the church have a personal and warm character that raw cement could never have given them. Paul Rouvière formed an artistic team around him to ensure the decoration of the Basilica.

Vue générale du chantier
Notre Dame de la Trinité Basilica

10 Boulevard Carnot

41000 Blois

Center region, France

02.54.78.18.23

  • Sanctuaire
boutique-des-3-ave-logo-1547196784.jpg.p

Write to us

© 2017-2018 par Basilique Notre Dame de la Trinité

L'immense haut-relief de la Trinité des frères Martel concentre en une saisissante synthèse la doctrine de la Basilique : la Vierge, au pied de la Croix, conduisant l'humanité  la Trinité Sainte.

Ornementation extérieure

St Michel Archange de béton recouvert de cuivre, à l'épée flamboyante dressée vers le ciel, surmonte le faîtage. Il est l'oeuvre de Lin Gualino.

Le campanile, haut de 60 m, abrite le gros bourdon, ses trois cadettes et le carillon de 48 cloches. Ce carillon unique en Loir-et-Cher a été réalisé par les ateliers Paccard d'Annecy.

Les bas-reliefs d'Anne-Marie Roux décrivent avec grâce et simplicité les trois principaux Mystères de la Vierge Marie : l'Immaculée Conception, l'Annonciation et l'Assomption.

Ornementation intérieure

Vitraux Notre Dame de la Trintié
Chemin de Croix Basilique

La statue de Notre-Dame avec le symbole de la Trinité en son cœur, exécutée par Anne-Marie Roux, a été commandée par le Père Grégoire pour créer une chapelle aux pèlerins.

La mosaïque, réalisée par Louis Barillet, surplombant le chœur représente le couronnement de la Vierge, entourée des anges et des Prophètes. L'espace libre autour de la mosaïque nous invite à rejoindre le Royaume de Dieu.

Depuis le XIIIe siècle les fidèles aiment supplier la Mère du Seigneur en récitant chaque jour, avec persévérance, les trois "Je vous salue, Marie". Cette prière nous rappelle notre vocation à entrer, comme Marie, dans une communion de Vie avec les Trois Personnes de la Sainte Trinité. Au début du XXe siècle, l'essor de la dévotion à Notre-Dame de la Trinité est né du désir apostolique du père Jean-Baptiste, frère Capucin du Couvent de Blois. Il consacra toute sa vie à la prédication et à l'extension de la prière des trois Ave Maria.

Lui succéda le Père Clovis de Provins, dont l'action s’exerça tout au long de l'entre-deux-guerre. Il eut le projet et fut l'artisan de l'édification de la Basilique. L'Oeuvre recevait de l'Eglise la mission de diffuser cette dévotion.

Dévotion des trois Ave

Construction à rebondissements

L'histoire de la construction est pleine de péripéties. Le projet très ambitieux du Père Clovis, pour qui rien ne semblait trop beau pour honorer Notre Dame et ses fidèles, fut à l'époque taxé de témérité. L'église fut commencée en 1932 sous la conduite de Charles-Henri Besnard. Sa construction, un moment interrompue pour malfaçons et procès, fut reprise en 1935 par l'architecte Paul Rouvière qui imprima sa marque à l'édifice. Elle fut achevée par le Père Grégoire avec l'architecte Yves-Marie Froidevaux en 1949, année de consécration de l'église et le titre de Basilique fut accordé par Pie XII en 1956.

Paul Rouvière, architecte visionnaire

A partir de 1936, Paul Rouvière prit en main les travaux de façon efficace à seulement 28 ans. Il reprend les principes suivants : sortir des champs d'actions traditionnelles, utiliser les nouveaux matériaux, employer des techniques de production industrielle, bannir le pittoresque pour privilégier la pureté des formes, inventer un Art Moderne. Il utilisa un matériau particulier : le béton bouchardé laissant apparaître le gravier de Loire. Grâce à ce procédé, les structures de l'église possèdent un caractère personnel et chaleureux que le ciment brut n'aurait jamais pu leur donner. Paul Rouvière constitue une équipe artistique autour de lui pour assurer la décoration de la Basilique. 

Basilique 
Notre Dame de la Trinité

10 Boulevard Carnot

41000 Blois

Région Centre, France

02.54.78.18.23

  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
boutique-des-3-ave-logo-1547196784.jpg.p

Écrivez-nous

© 2017-2018 par Basilique Notre Dame de la Trinité